Unrequited Love

I feel I’m left to wonder if you even fucking like me,

Sorry for the aggression but sometimes it’s hard to see.

I make such an effort to show you how I feel,

But you just smile and blow me off like it’s no big deal.

 

You put your arm around me but somehow it just seems cold,

But you know with your permission it’s your heart I’d like to hold.

Your palm held dead in my hand, may I be so bold?

Can you just tell me you like me, or is that fashion far too old?

 

I want my mind to quiet,

But it simply will not buy it.

“He really doesn’t love you,

You know I’m telling the truth.”

So I’ll shut my eyes

And close my mind.

Oh baby, please lie to me.

 

-Holly Brown Bear

Leave a Reply

