You’re A Part of my Passionate Past tense.

Is it because I can’t have you that the thought drives me insane?

When once I had a chance and now you’re all that’s on my brain.

It comes in waves, where once I’m fine, then the next in your domain

I don’t need you, but it doesn’t stop the wanting, and it leaves my head to hang

What can I say? The skin, smooth lips and sweet voice stay the same

And so every time I walk into life it doesn’t go away

I smile, I wave, I talk like it’s okay. Like nothings changed.

But that’s the problem, nothing changed.

When I look at your face I still see all of the ways

We kissed, we touched, we loved.

How is it that I’m supposed to look at you without remembering our passion?

And then remember the feelings you must not have rationed

Because when it came to it and I needed you, you were nothing but past tense.

-Holly Brown Bear

One thought on “You’re A Part of my Passionate Past tense.

Leave a Reply

